Everett Chiropractic Center Blog

August 31, 2014

Why (ordinary) Doctors Are Sick Of Their Profession – The Wall Street Journal

DarkMountains

Helen asked me if we should put this article up on the bulletin board in the office. I will put a few excerpts below in case you don’t want to read the whole thing. What do you think? Should we put it up at the office?

“When I look at my career at midlife, I realize that in many ways I have become that doctor I never thought I’d be: impatient, occasionally indifferent, at times dismissive or paternalistic. Many of my colleagues are similarly struggling with the loss of their professional ideals.”

“In a 2008 survey of of 12,000 physicians, only 6% describes their morale as positive. Eighty-four percent said that their incomes were constant or decreasing. Most said that they didn’t have enough time to spend with patients because of paperwork, and nearly had said they planned to reduce the number of patients they would see in the next three years or stop practicing altogether.”

“I feel like a pawn in a moneymaking game for hospital administrators. There are so many other ways I could have made my living and been more fulfilled. The sad part is we chose medicine because we thought it was worthwhile and noble, but from what I have seen in my short career, it is a charade.” (emphasis mine)

“Perhaps the most serious downside however, is that unhappy doctors make for unhappy patients.”

“For many of us, it is rare to find a primary physician who can remember us from visit to visit, let alone come to low us in depth or with any meaning or relevancy.

…Insensitivity to in patient-doctor relationships has become almost normal.”

I don’t know. May be this has something to do with our office has been busier in the past eight months than in the past twenty-eight years. A steady flow of people have been showing up, happy to pay for their care, and get what they can’t get anywhere else. We thought is was Obama Care, people are certainly discovering that even though they have insurance it doesn’t mean much when it comes to taking care of their health. They are on their own for that. And for that they come in for chiropractic care. Imagine.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

