Everett Chiropractic Center Blog

March 2, 2017

Not News: Tai Chi Reduces Risk of Falls 64%

From Dr. Weil newsletter.

 

Tai Chi To Prevent Falls
Practicing tai chi three times a week could cut seniors’ risk of falling by 64 percent, a significant improvement compared to a 5 percent decline in risk linked to once a week sessions.

Like I said: not news… but good to know.

[On another note, I don’t know if I have gotten around to Posting about it yet, but I saw the latest published guidelines on the management of low back pain – guess what made the list of recommendations? That’s right, tai chi. Chiropractic care was listed too, of course, but all the research available on the subject of very clear: chiropractic care plus exercise is the best approach.]

2 Comments »

  1. I can attest to this fact. In Dallas I had what I call a Tai Chi moment, I was tripped by my dog who walked behind me as I was stepping backwards. I was falling backwards on one foot with the bowl of food I was putting in the refrigerator when my Tai Chi kicked in and I was able to slow my backward fall down, balance on one leg and gently sit on the floor rather than fall on my posterior, and I didn’t spill the food. I would say this was impossible except it was witnessed by my husband. He said it was like I was in slow motion and it was the most incredible thing he had seen.

    Comment by Cheryl — March 3, 2017 @ 4:51 pm

    • Your tai chi training allowed you to very rapidly focus your attention and stay present to what was happening as it was happening. More typically a person hits the ground faster than they can gain control. I have had that same kind of experience several times. You could never make all of those calculations and adjustments if you had to think your way through it:-) Good job; keep training!

      Comment by doctordilday — March 3, 2017 @ 5:33 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

