Everett Chiropractic Center Blog

May 5, 2017

For Tai Chi Students: How to Get “Tai Chi Knee”

I often tell the story about my first meetings with Dan Docherty – my teacher. He asked that I show him my Form, I did, and he (generously) said, “I can see that you have put a lot of work into it, but it is neither square nor round, and know one has taught you the Knee Rule.”

Being a chiropractor, and a gym guy (for decades), I said that I did know that knee rule; then he pointed out that I was repeatedly breaking it. Whatever I paid for that 9-hour flight and the two weeks stay in London, that correction made the trip worth it.

He told me that there is only one sports injury associated with Tai Chi, and it is Tai Chi Knee – the consequence of repeatedly breaking the Knee Rule.

So, today, I for some reason decided to check on YouTube and see if there were any decent videos instructing on how to do Tai Chi walking: there were not. Instead, I found a video of someone demonstrating how to repeatedly break the Knee Rule.

The message: Just because someone is a celebrity, sells seminars and DVDs, and can speak chinese words, does not mean that their instruction is of the highest order. I know almost nothing else about the author, other than what we see in this video (and I didn’t listen to hardly any of it), but watch… and learn (probably best not to turn the sound on).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

